I find myself lately with an immense urge to write.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been reading so many of my friends’ articles, and blogs, and poems.  Or maybe it’s because for too long I have ignored the urge to create.  In the midst of my life, which is I admit FILLED to the brim with chaos most days, I often find myself ignoring or pushing aside with firm hands the desire to sit in a space of creativity and thought.  Instead I want to be mindless.  

So much of my job involves thinking and feeling: prepping sermons, providing pastoral care, helping people think through tough issues, asking questions of church leadership and even family; so at the end of the day all I want to do is sit like a blob in front of the TV, my computer, or my IPAD and veg out. 

But clearly, my soul is not getting fed that way. 

And the feeling, the urge, the desire will not go away.

I know this because 2 weeks ago I was on an airplane flying back from Nashville and sitting at the window I noticed the roll of the clouds, and without thinking I grabbed a piece of paper, a pen and began to write.  I wrote a poem.  I never write poems.  Ever.  And yet….it flowed out of my pen without thought until I felt exhausted and exhilarated at the same time.  It wasn’t very good, it wasn’t a genius work of art…..but it was something.  And I felt immense relief. 

So here it is:  the space I am giving myself to create.  To write, to rant, to vent, to be. 

I hope you’ll join me.