Yesterday I went into my local Starbucks and ordered my usual. By “usual,” i mean the thing I order pretty much every time I’m in there. My children even know my order by heart. (Which is probably very sad)

There was a new person at the register, and I could tell that he was new not only because I visit so often, but because he asked me to repeat everything I’d said. Shortly after taking my order he left to go on his break and I noticed that one of the drinks I had ordered was done wrong. He made it iced instead of warm. He also forgot to put my cheese danish in the oven to warm it.

When I mentioned it to the barista who’d made the drink, she just smiled and remade it for me. She didn’t say a word to the other worker, who’d come back in to make his own drink. She said to me simply, “no problem, I’ll make another one.”

What struck me about this interaction was the grace she gave him. There was no shaming him for his mistake, she never asked if I’d said it wrong, or he heard it wrong or told him to pay more attention or ask for help. She didn’t even mention that he was the one who’d taken my order. She simply re-did the drink.

I wish we all could be more like that. It strikes me that often within the church world, we are quick to name other’s mistakes. We point fingers, name names, and play the blame game way too often. I hear too often complaints about the children leaving a mess, or so and so threw out something that’s been in the closet for 10 years, or the secretary messed up the bulletin, or the liturgist read that wrong….and on and on and on.

We’re all guilty of it.

Let’s all take a lesson from my local barista: make a fresh cup of coffee, put a smile on our faces and simply fix the mistake.

